Every state has some sort of requirement to buy car insurance. Texas is a “fault” state, which means you will be required to buy liability insurance. This type of insurance pays out benefits to people you injure when involved in a car crash. Your liability insurance does not cover your own injuries.
Car insurance is a somewhat complicated topic. However, you will need minimum insurance in order to register a car, so we write this blog to help you get started choosing the right insurance for you.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Texas
As stated above, Texas is a fault state, so you will need to buy liability insurance. The following minimums apply:
- $30,000 per person in bodily injury liability, up to $60,000 per accident
- $25,000 in property damage liability
Bodily injury liability covers accidents where someone is injured. Benefits will cover a victim’s medical bills, lost wages, and pain and suffering. Property damage insurance covers damage you cause to someone else’s property, whether that is their vehicle, mailbox, or something else.
You will need proof that you have the required insurance before you can register your car. Also carry proof of insurance with you at all times. Keep it with your registration, because a police officer who pulls you over will want to see that you have acceptable coverage.
Other Insurance to Consider
Around 1 in 5 of all Texas drivers do not have insurance. This is an alarming statistic, because you might not get compensation if someone else strikes you and causes injury. Remember, the insurance you carry is liability insurance. It will not cover you in the event of a crash.
However, Texas drivers can buy other insurance that can fill in the gaps:
- Uninsured motorist insurance. If the driver who hits you does not have insurance, you can tap this coverage to pay compensation.
- Underinsured motorist coverage. Many car accidents cause more than $30,000 in losses. If you need surgery, that amount will be eaten up before you are wheeled out of the operating room. Your underinsured motorist coverage can kick in to cover expenses after the other driver’s insurance is exhausted.
- Collision coverage. This is no-fault insurance that will pay out compensation to fix your car if you get into an accident.
- Comprehensive coverage. Like collision coverage, this is no-fault. It will cover the cost of repairs if something other than a collision injures you, such as a storm.
You probably do not need all of the above. However, we strongly encourage people to buy uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, which can provide a lifeline after a bad accident.
Questions about a Collision? Contact Us Today
In many accidents, the defendant’s car insurance represents the only money our clients can possibly receive. If you have a question about how to cover your economic losses after a crash, please contact DC Law today.
Our Austin car accident attorneys have settled countless cases. We understand the law inside and out and can advise you about the best way to increase the amount of compensation you receive from the at-fault driver.
Call us today, 512-220-1800, to schedule a free consultation.